I was presented with this shirt following my visit to Chernomorets’ stadium in Burgas. The navy blue fabric is fairly thick, no doubt because it is not made by a well known Western brand but rather by the Italian brand Sportika. Still, it is not of poor quality by any means. The shirt sponsor is the same as that of Neftochimic Burgas, the team whose ground they shared at the time of my visit. The name and number are heat pressed onto the shirt in official size and style; the fact that the name–Portochanov–is in cyrillic adds a special bit of authenticity to this shirt–and raises more than a few eyebrows when worn.

Before getting this shirt I still remember pointing out “Austin, Texas” (Остин, Тексас) on the Bulgarian language map in the team’s offices to a friendly club official who wondered where I was visiting from. Now, I present this shirt from Burgas to Austin to you.

 

20131225_172700 20131225_172743

