My map of Dushanbe told me that there was a stadium hiding somewhere behind the Central Railway station and indeed there was. I followed my map down the platforms of the station through the middle of a pick-up soccer game, crossed the railroad tracks, and found this derelict stadium. Once inside the stadium I found the only other human being for what felt like miles–a lone groundskeeper watering (whats left of) the grass at this derelict ground.

Like most of the former USSR, apparently Tajikistan also has a railway worker’s team, although from the size of this ground I’m assuming its more of a training ground for railway employees to have a kick about on, since my research has not uncovered any team called “Lokomotiv Dushanbe”. If anyone knows more about this team, I’d be very grateful.  The most most famous Railway team in the former USSR has got to be Lokomotiv Moscow, but there are many others throughout the former USSR and Eastern Bloc such as Lokomotiv Nizhny Novgorod (Russia) , Lokomotivi Tblisi (Georgia), Lokomotiva Zagreb (Croatia), Lokomotiv Sofia (Bulgaria), Lokomotiv Plovdiv (Bulgaria), and CFR Cluj (Romania . Though not a Lokomotiv they’re still a railway team–CFR stands for Căile Ferate Române, Romanian Railways). Pictures of the Dushanbe Lokomotiv Stadium are below.

Pick-Up Soccer knows no bounds:

DSCN3843 DSCN3844

The “Loko” Graffiti told me I was in the right place, although its a long way from Lokomotiv Moscow to Dushanbe. Perhaps it was trying to tell me that I was a bit “Loko” for even visiting this forgotten ground:

DSCN3842

Number 2 cuts a lonely figure in a place that time forgot:

DSCN3841 DSCN3840 DSCN3839 DSCN3838 DSCN3837

