I visited the Spartak Stadium in Varna on a mid-summer day, with skies as blue as the waters of the Black Sea rolling onto the shore a few blocks away. The stadium is a pretty standard Bulgarian affair, although it didn’t seem to have as many amenities as city rival Cherno More’s Ticha Stadium. The 13,000 capacity stadium is home to PFC Spartak Varna, a side whose shirt I was unable to attain at the stadium. Fortunately, I was able to find a match worn example off the internet once I got back home.

I suppose that I might have been a bit of a bad-luck charm for the side, since they ended up suffering some financial problems and ended up being relegated to the third level of Bulgarian football , the amateur V AFG, in 2010–a year after I visited. It’s a tough blow for a side that was the first Bulgarian side to appear in the now defunct UEFA Cup Winner’s Cup and that shares the name “Spartak” with their more illustrious cousins in Moscow.

 

100_2048

Id live in one of those apartments, great seats on match day:

100_2049

Skies as blue as the Black Sea:

100_2050 100_2051

At least I know where I am:

100_2052

The architecture outside the stadium is…interesting:

100_2053

But its a different “interesting” than Bulgarian advertising. I actually liked Mastika–they didn’t need to go to such lengths to hook me. I’m not complaining though:

100_2055

 

 

