OFK are a side I would like to have learned more about on my visit, due in part to their nickname–”Romanticari”, or “The Romantics”. They are the oldest Serbian club, formed in 1911 a healthy 102 years ago. I got a cab ride to the 19,100 capacity Obladinski on a lazy summer day before heading on to Bosnia-Herzegovina and found no one there to provide me with a shirt–perhaps I should have been a little more persistent. Hopefully I will be able to return to Belgrade and get a chance to attend an OFK match since their youth system is one of the best in Serbia–certainly their staying power in the face of more illustrious Belgrade rivals like Red Star and Partizan attests to this. The photos of the stadium were current Chelsea star Branislav Ivanonovic honed his skills are below:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now I know where I am:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Practice Fields where Branislav Ivanovic Learned His Trade:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Obladinski:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since 1911:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good Bye Serbia, and on to Bosnia:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

