The name Dinamo is one steeped in the history of Eastern European football. Historically the name Dinamo (or Dynamo) was given to teams supported by the secret police–in contrast to the CSKA teams (supported by the army) or Lokomotiv teams (supported by railway workers).

Numerous Eastern European teams share the Dinamo name including Dinamo Moscow, Dynamo Kiev (the write up of a match I saw at their stadium can be seen here), Dinamo Tblisi, Dinamo Tirana, Dinamo Zagreb; even a few German teams–Dynamo Dresden and Dynamo Berlin–have this name, remnants of an East Germany now long erased from the map.

In the case of Moldova there is no “Dinamo” team in Chisinau, although the stadium features the classic cursive “D” letter on the badge. The stadium itself is small like the city it is located in, with a capacity of just 2,888 and nestled in the midst of Chisnau’s famous green boulevards, but its historical value is much larger than that. In my visit during the summer of 2007 there were no groundskeepers keeping me off the pitch–as such, I was able to get some good pictures that can be seen below:

The gates are locked but I’m sure I can find a way in:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Allow me a minute to break out my Moldovan-English dictionary:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And perhaps my Russian-English dictionary as well:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The classic “D”:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chisinau’s greenery encroaches in a friendly manner:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good luck finding anyone in the offices:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

